Mobile Notary Directory Notary @ Your Door Notary @ Your Door mobile notary public

Follow by Email

Monday, December 12, 2011


MARRIAGE LICENSE SYSTEM - APPLICATION INFORMATION

PLEASE ADVISE THE CLERK IF YOU ARE EXEMPT UNDER FLORIDA STATUTE 119.071
Broward County Courthouse
201 S.E. 6th Street, Room 270 | Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33301
Telephone:             (954) 831-6525       Ext. 7842 | Business Hours: 8:00am- 4:30pm (Monday - Friday) 


Residents of the State of Florida have the option of attending a premarital course from a registered provider, or waiting 3 days for the marriage license to become effective. A directory of the premarital course providers is available at all court locations to browse through (the Marriage License Office does not offer this course). Non-Florida Residents are exempt of any waiting period.

Visit our online Premarital Course Provider Search to locate a registered premarital course provider near you. (See clerk for certificate requirements.)
  • Both parties (bride and groom) age 18 and over must apply in person, at the same time.
  • There are two (2) forms of identification that may be required.

    1. The first form of identification required is a valid photo identification issued by the federal or state government. The photo identification must have the correct legal name, date of birth and signature of the applicant.
      The following valid proofs of photo identifications are accepted:
      • Driver's License (U.S. State or Government)
      • Passport
      • U.S. Military identification
      • State Identification Card (U.S. State or Government)
      • Alien Registration Card
    2. A second form of identification is required if the applicant has been issued a U.S. Social Security number. In accordance with Florida State Statute, any person who has been issued a Social Security number shall provide that number. Any person who is not a citizen of the U.S. may provide either a Social Security number or an Alien Registration number, if one has been issued. If neither has been issued, another form of ID may be required.
  • There are no blood tests required.
  • You do not need to be a resident of this county or the State of Florida to obtain a Marriage license. Marriage licenses are for use within the State for sixty-60 days from the date of issue.
  • The "Family Law Handbook" should be read prior to obtaining the Marriage License. The "Family Law Handbook" is available for viewing in the Clerk of Courts Marriage and One-Stop-Divisions or on the Internet at www.flclerks.com.
  • If either applicant has been previously married, the exact date of the last divorce, death, or annulment must be provided.

Applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age: In addition to the above listed requirements, the following documents must be presented when one or both of the applicants are within this age bracket:

Any applicant under the age of eighteen (18) must have the consent of both parents or guardian. If custody of such minor has been granted to one parent, original proof must be provided. You may obtain consent forms from this office. If one parent is deceased, a certified copy of the death certificate is required. Proof of age and parents identity is required. This may be done with a certified copy of the person’s birth certificate. If the parent's names do not match, additional proof may be required.

Applicants under 16 years of age: Clerk will explain procedures.

In order to speed up the process, please fill our online pre-application, print it and bring it with you to one of the Broward County offices for the application process to be completed.

No comments:

Post a Comment

South Florida Notary & Wedding Officiant 954-999-5018 or 407-489-7807 (Our on the road number)